Rc.No:1 Dt:20-1-2017 National Award to Teachers

                      The Scheme of National Award to Teachers was started in the year 1958-59 with the object of raising the prestige of teachers and giving public recognition to the meritorious services of outstanding teachers working in Primary, Middle and HigherSecondary Schools.  In 1967-68 the scope of the scheme was enlarged to cover the teachers of Sanskrit Pathshalas, Tolls etc. run on traditional lines.  In 1976 the scheme was further enlarged to cover Arabic/Persian teachers of Madrasas.

          From the award year 1993, the scheme has further been enlarged to cover teachers from Sainik Schools, NavodayaVidyalayas and schools run by Atomic Energy Education Society.  Earlier CBSE had been allocated a quota of 10 awards – 2 for each zone subject to availability in case of shortfall of recommendation from the entitled States/UTs and organizations.  Each award carries with it a certificate of merit, a cash award money of Rs.50,000/- and a Silver Medal.  The enhanced amount will be given to the National Awardee from the Award year, 2014.

      The number of awards has been increased from 302 to 350 from the award year 2000-2001.  4 additional Awards have been allocated to CBSE from the Award year, 2002.  From the award year 2006 the total number of award earmarked to KVS have been increased from 6 to 16. The number of awards further increased from the award year 2007.

  1. Classroom teachers with atleast 15 years regular teaching experience and Headmasters with 20 years of regular teaching experience and who are actually working as teachers/headmasters in recognized primary/middle/high/ higher secondary schools only shall be considered.  Teachers who are teaching upto class VIII should be considered in the category of Primary School Teachers and those teaching classes IX-XII, in the category of Secondary School Teachers.  For teachers promoting Integrated Inclusive Education the eligibility will stand reduced from 15 years of classroom teaching experience to 10 years of service and from 20 years for Headmasters to 15 years if they are to be considered for awards in respect of Inclusive Education
  2.  Normally retired teachers are not eligible for the award but those teachers who have served a part of the calendar year (atleast for four months i.e. upto 30th April in the year to which National Award relates) may be considered if they fulfill all other conditions.  The service rendered on re-employment after attaining the age of superannuation will not count as eligible service.
  3. Teachers whose names were recommended last year or before can be considered again if they are still otherwise eligible and are recommended by the State Government/ Union Territories
  4. Educational Administrators, Inspectors of Education, and the staff of training colleges are not eligible for these awards.
  5. Only those teachers, having requisite years of teaching experience, as mentioned at Sl.No.1 above, on 31st December of the preceding year of the Award, will be eligible to be considered for the award.
Posted in:

Related Posts


Post a Comment

AP Latest Information

Learn a Word September 2022 Schedule More

Sponsered Links

E-Patasala( TLM)

General Information